University of Suffolk (formerly known as University Campus Suffolk (UOS) is a university located in the English county of Suffolk. UOS is a collaboration between the University of Essex and the University of East Anglia. UOS accepted its first students in September 2007. Until then Suffolk was one of only four counties in England which did not have a University campus. UOS operates two academic faculties and in 2014/15 had 5,060 students. 

University of Suffolk's teaching is split into two faculties: Arts, Business and Applied Social Sciences; and Health and Science. The faculties work across the UOS network with degrees validated by the University of Essex and the University of East Anglia.


  • Faculty of Arts, Business and Applied Social Science

  • Department of Arts and Humanities

  • Department of Children, Young People and Education

  • Department of Psychology, Sociology and Social Work

  • The Suffolk Business School

Faculty of Health and Science:

  • Department of Health Studies

  • Department of Nursing Studies

  • Department of Science and Technology

At UOS whatever you are studying you will be doing it in state-of-the-art surroundings. They have invested across UOS to create environments that showcase the latest teaching methods and support our students to achieve great things. 

UOS main campus in Ipswich, the Virtual Environment for Radiotherapy Training is an example of what the latest technology can do. The new James Hehir Building includes the latest clinical skills and sports and  exercise laboratories. It also has specialist bioscience teaching and research facilities, which have all been created to give you the tools you need to achieve your full potential.

The Arts Building has among its many facilities; painting, sculpture, drawing and print studios; installation and video spaces; a film studio; and two dance studios.